Harlequins and ransomware

July 21, 2010 at 2:47 am 2 comments

So I’m finally slowly getting back into painting.  I’ve been working on the harlequin since it seems to be inspiring me at the moment and I go to post the pictures online and… virus on the computer preventing me from doing anything!  Joy!

After a couple hours battle with SpyDoctor or whatever (who infected my computer and then tried to get me to pay $49.99 to install the “cleaner” to remove it) I’m back to about 90%.  Removing the bugger is tricky since if I miss a single reg entry or autorun it reinstalls itself.  I know I’m still missing a piece because Google Chrome randomly stops downloading pages, but at least I’m mostly running again.

Here’s the harlequin.  The instructions were “do whatever you want, since they are all supposed to look different”.  Well, at first I was going to do some ultra colorful purple/yellow or something, but then I realized that I can’t paint black or white, so I decided to try both…

The black and white are done (although I might go over the black with another glaze to soften the highlights again), but the teal still needs to be finished.  There are a couple of gems on the guns and the boots that need to be done, as well as the large gem in the center of the chest.  Overall I’m pretty happy with it.  Still trying to figure out black and white though…

Entry filed under: Currently working on, For Others, Sci Fi.

June painting Statistics Genestealer and harlequin finished

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tristan  |  July 21, 2010 at 3:10 am

    He looks freakin’ awesome dude! Total bad-ass

  • 2. minibobbo  |  July 21, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks. Just touch-up and details left to do. Unfortunately, touch-up is the part that I dislike the most 🙂

    The Genestealer is at the same point. It should only take another session to finish them both off.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

