Cowboys, Skeleton Horses and Genestealers.

June 10, 2010 at 2:52 am 1 comment

I found that after a couple of days on vacation I missed my paintbrush.  Not enough to wish that I was home or anything, but enough that when I had a couple hours to spare in the evenings I felt like painting was the thing to do.  Only I didn’t bring everything with me, so no dice.  Maybe I could make some sort of portable painting station?  Thoughts for the future.

Painted for about 2 hours this evening, plus 10 – 15 minutes in the afternoon priming.  I received a box from Tristan containing the Genestealer and Harlequin in the mail on my arrival home.  I’ve been kind of excited to paint the Harlequin since I knew it was coming, but when I got them out of the boxes I found it was the Genestealer that inspired me tonight.  As an added bonus, it included the cowboy that I sent off to him for painting.  I’m plenty happy with him and he will go on the shelf until I can get the rest of the cowboys painted up.

The Genestealer request came in for purple skin and green armor, so I did my best to match the colors and got a couple of layers done.  These guys seem to be made for drybrushing since everything is textured.  I dislike drybrushing, so I decided for a basecoat, wash then highlight for the skin.  Normally I’d just build it up in layers, but some of the folds are tiny and would take forever to highlight individually.  On some of the revealed skin I did drybrush just to keep from going crazy.

Skin is done.  Armor needs midtones finished and highlights done.  All extras (face, claws, medallion necklace thing) still need to be done.  Another sitting should finish him off.  Colors used so far are in the pictures behind the mini.


My lighting is fighting with me, so I can’t get a good picture of the green.

I also put another layer of highlights on the skeletal horse to brighten it up a bit.  It looks better now I think, although I realized that my final highlight (Reaper Pearl White) is actually a metallic white.  Luckily I noticed after painting a couple of highlights and it was thinned down so the matte sealer should eliminate the shine from the metal flakes.

Entry filed under: Currently working on, Fantasy, For Others, Sci Fi.

Skeleton horses and slow mail service June painting Statistics

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tristan  |  June 10, 2010 at 3:13 am

    I’ve done some research into the portable painting station and it’s something you’ll likely have to build yourself to get what you want. Options for purchase are either not quite good enough or much too expensive.

    Glad you like the cowboy – I like the photos with the background.

    Loving what you’ve done with the genestealer patriarch. He looks spot on.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

