Skeleton horses and slow mail service

June 3, 2010 at 11:37 am 3 comments

My goal was to prep, prime and start on all the three “commission” minis at the same time, but the mail service from Northern Canada to the Northern USA seems to have hit some sort of problem (maybe one of those freakish late May snowstorms or something).  I’m expecting the package any day now, but until then I figured I’d start the Vampire Count BSB.  Actually, I technically started on the horse.  The request came in that the skeleton have that clean bleached skeleton look like the ones in this picture.

Well, I broke out the paints and used the same colors and ended up with this…

He seems a lot darker and less clean than the skellies above and I’m not sure why.  I’m thinking he needs another layer of highlight color and then maybe a small highlight of white to get him to what he looks like in my head. 

I’ll be leaving on a mini vacation down to our nation’s capital tonight and won’t be back until the middle of next week, so I won’t get any painting done between now and then, and no updates to the blog.  If I don’t get the Canada package today, maybe while I’m in Washington DC I can find whoever runs the post office and ask them what’s going on.

Entry filed under: Currently working on, Fantasy, For Others.

May Painting Statistics Cowboys, Skeleton Horses and Genestealers.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tristan  |  June 3, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Wow, I am quite surprised that it hasn’t arrived. Perhaps it’s because I use a downtown post office now instead of one by my old office uptown. I’m not even Northern Canada being in Toronto – according to Google I could’ve driven it to you myself in under 10 hours!

  • 2. minibobbo  |  June 9, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Pardon my Canadian geographical ignorance. I’m used to thinking of New Hampshire as “in the North”, so anything farther north than I am automatically in my mind goes up to the arctic circle.

    Just got back from Washington DC and the package was sitting on the table. The cowboy looks great and the oter two arrived in good shape. I’ll be getting them primed and colors chosen for the Harlequin tonight.

  • 3. Tristan  |  June 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Excellent glad to hear it arrived ok. Happy to hear you’re content with the cowboy. It was fun to paint something different, fyi he’s not been protected with sealant or anything.

    Been dicking around with my new PC for a bit, hopefully after this weekend I’ll get back into the painting with a little more purpose and get your ninja guy finished, along with another individual mini for myself before trying to get going on some batch work.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

