Skeletons and the Cameraman

May 28, 2010 at 2:56 am 3 comments

So I’ve currently got three figures for others in the lineup.  I’ve got a mounted Vampire Count Standard Bearer stripped of paint and ready for priming and a Genestealer and Harlequin on their way in the mail from Canada.  My least favorite part of painting minis is actually figure prep, so I tend to do it in batches when I can work up the motivation.  I’ve done a majority of the prep work on the flagbearer already, but I wanted to wait until the other figures came before so I can do all the cleanup/prep/priming all at once.

In the meantime I’ve been messing around with the Army Painter dip and the Mantic Games Skeleton Command.  Overall I’ve finished two figs and have another three ready for dipping.  In case you haven’t seen it before, what Army Painter is claiming is that all you need to do is basecoat the figures and then dip them in the Army Painter Quick Shade, then seal with a matte sealer.  Well, I assembled and basecoated a skeleton in about 5 – 10 minutes, then dipped him.  Here’s my results :

Before :

After :

Obviously the after shot isn’t with the same minis as the before shot, but they are close enough to get an idea of what kind of results I get.  This picture shows the need for some kind of matte sealer, since the skele on the left isn’t sealed and the one on the right is.  If I was feeling really ambitious I would go back and add some glowing eyes and some extra details to add to the overall effect, but I’m actually pretty happy with them.

I also painted a modern cameraman from EM4 miniatures.  He was about an hour and a half paintjob.

Overall I like the cameraman better than the skeletons, but I could finish about 10 – 15 skeletons in the same amount of time.  I tend to want to play smaller skirmish games anyways, so the longer method seems to suit me.  I’ll still use the Army Painter method occasionally to get minis done, but not normally.  It definitely lends itself to certain color combinations and figures better than others.  My favorite ones done with the dip so far are these fishmen from Reaper Miniatures.  The took maybe half an hour for the two of them and they are some of my favorite minis.

Sorry about the slightly blurry picture.  The autofocus hit the paint in the background…

Entry filed under: Currently working on, Fantasy, For Me, Modern.

An update about the lack of updates May Painting Statistics

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tristan  |  May 30, 2010 at 4:34 am

    I do love dipping models. Most of the time I get big plans that take a hit once it hits the 7th inning stretch (hell sometimes 3rd inning!) and dipping is definintely the way to go quantity over quality.

    I really love the reaper fisher guys – if I was tempted to re-do the lizardmen in my mordheim warband that’s how I would love them to look. Skellies don’t look bad either. I’m still pondering my paint scheme for my mantic elves – thinking about either a base, with metallic spray ‘dusted’ top down with a dip, or the reverse (metallic, base ‘dust’, dip) and am leaning towards a greenish base colour.

    Let me know when those mini’s arrive, should be early next week.

  • 2. minibobbo  |  May 30, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    I think the biggest thing for me and the dip so far is choosing colors that are going to look good with it. The light blue and tan on the Reaper Fishmen both work really well once dipped and since they are a large portion of the mini they came out well. The major problem with the original skeleton (the one on the right) is that the purple I picked for the cloth is too dark for the dip to really show.

    One thing I’m going to try on the next skellies I do is to basecoat and highlight like normal and then let the dip handle the shading and blending. I’m wondering how that will look. I’d be really interested to hear how the dusting works on the Mantic Elves. That sounds like a great idea. As long as the green is a lighter shade I would imagine that would work fine.

    I was hoping the minis would show on Saturday, since Monday is a holiday in the US and mail won’t be delivered. I’m hoping for a Tuesday delivery.

  • 3. Tristan  |  May 31, 2010 at 4:53 am

    Ah I see what you mean, my preference is to use a dark dip and use lighter versions of the colours, ie. still purple but let the dip do the darkening.

    My thoughts for the green was kind of a light olive’ish green, I am actually doing them up as melniboneans so i figured a neutral colour could be using either high/dark elve book for warhammer, while i still want them to look cruel.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

