Macro photography part 2

May 7, 2010 at 12:48 pm Leave a comment

I thought I’d throw up some photos to illustrate what I was talking about with my last post.  I uploaded some of the raw files and messed around with them.  Here are the final results.  All these photos are set with the regular lens first and the macro lens second.

Here are the final pictures:

Here are the unedited raw files (exported to 600 dpi)

As you can see from the raw file, I crop out the figure that I want and then blow it up to get the final pictures.  Not a huge deal since the camera takes some high resolution shots and it looks ok.  But if I try to get a closeup of just the mini’s face it becomes real apparent…

The second is much clearer and nicer (from a photography perspective, not a painting one!).  It also makes me realize that I need to paint the eyes on this mini…

So there you go.  The macro lens is working great, but I don’t think I’ll be showing extreme closeups of any of my mini’s faces anytime soon.

Entry filed under: Photography.

Fun with Macro photography I hate assembling miniatures

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

