Note to self…

April 15, 2010 at 8:07 pm 2 comments

I tried to get some more painting done last night, but was having paint trouble.  It seemed like my paint was drying out in a fraction of the time that it did before.  I was at a loss, and it was extremely frustrating, since the water and the flow improver I add to my paint would disappear in minutes leaving me with a goopy mess that is acrylic retarder and pigment.  So I’m frantically checking things that might be causing the issue. 

I figured maybe my mixing meduim has just aged or something, so I mix up a new batch.  Still drying out super fast. 

Am I leaving my paints under a light or something and the heat is causing my issue?  Nope, the paint is in the same place it always is.

We are finally getting some nice weather in New Hampshire.  Is it temperature or humidity related?  I never had these problems before…

Ends up the solution was a lot simpler than I was making it out to be.  I use a wet pallette made up of a sponge and some parchment paper.  Well, I had taken away my sponge the other day and my parchment paper dried out.  I had forgotten to replace the sponge, so instead of my drying paint pulling water from the paper, which pulls water from the sponge, I instead got a thirsty piece of parchment paper sucking water out of my paint.

Note to self:  Wet palettes need to be wet.  Otherwise they work in reverse.

Entry filed under: Random, Uncategorized.

New Dino The men in black

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gkgnight  |  April 23, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Hmm… you know i never tried using a wet pallette before. Next model i paint i kno i’m definately going to try that enw technique.

  • 2. minibobbo  |  April 29, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I’ve been having pretty good luck with it so far. I get an entire evening of painting in with no paint wasted if I get the right amount of water in the sponge.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

