Starting NMM

March 25, 2010 at 1:13 pm Leave a comment

So I decided that my knight/paladin was going to be painted in blue NMM since it is something that I’ve never attempted before.  So rather than plan or anything, I decided to just start throwing some paint on him.  After about 20 minuts worth of work, here’s what I’ve come up with…

So far my thoughts are neutral.  I was trying to simulate a light coming from the upper left, but I know the highlights are in the wrong spots.  I haven’t been doing it long enough or looking at examples corrently to tell where the highlights are supposed to be.  I like my color choice (which can be seen in the paint behind him), but I think NMM is going to be one of those things that doesn’t come naturally to me and is just going to take a ton of study and practice until I can get the highlights in the right spots. 

I also got some better pictures of the other two figs I’m working on.  The dwarf needs the highlights on the hair done, then metallics, then whatever color I decide on for the shirt (might just be lazy black).  The elf obviously needs a lot of work (including painting the ears, which I forgot to do while painting the flesh.  Doh!)

Unfortuntely I didn’t get much painting done last night, mainly due to a long day at work, a dog desperately in need of attention and a cat that decided that being pet was more important than whatever I had planned.  Have you ever tried to paint highlights on a figure an inch tall while a cat is rubbing your hands and purring?  Not easy…

Entry filed under: Currently working on, Fantasy, For Others.

Suffering from lack of motivation End of the month sprint

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

