Vampire on foot started

February 27, 2010 at 4:29 am Leave a comment

So I started the Vampire Count on foot this evening.  Last night I worked on the arm that was missing.  The closest thing I could find in my extra pieces was an arm holding a sword.  Unfortunately, the hand was a little small and didn’t seem to fit quite right.

So I whipped out the ProCreate and went to sculpt a new hand.  It came out alright.  I’m not going to quit my day job or anything, but I’m hoping the relative crudeness of it compared to the professional sculpt won’t be too obvious once it is painted.

After the sculpt, it was a quick prime black.  I painted up the skin on the Vamp tonight just to see how the hand worked out.  I’m still not sure on it.  I think that it will work, although I definitely need more practice.

I guess now at least the hands are roughly the same size…

I also painted a Reaper miniature of a female hoplite for my Greek army.  I’m still trying to figure out how to take photos of metallics, but this is the best that I’ve got.

I’m leaving the shield and sword unpainted for now because I’m going to make them the same across the whole army, and I don’t know what that is going to look like yet…

Overall, I’m happy with the weeks work.

Entry filed under: Currently working on, Fantasy, For Me, For Others.

Mounted Vampire 90% finished February Painting Statistics

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

