Still working on the 20mm moderns…

January 14, 2010 at 4:00 am Leave a comment

Ok, so I’ve painted 4 additional delta troops in the desert camo instead of the jungle.  I tried three different techniques on them to see how the quality vs time would look.

The figures go from quick to long, left to right.  The one all the way on the left is a failed experiment using the Army Painter dip method.  The figure was only basecoated and then given a dip.  Normally I like the look that the Army Painter gives, but a combination of the scale, colors and small detail ruined this one.  This is actually better than immediately afterwards.  Since the Army Painter gives the entire figure a slight brown tint it made the tan camo and the skin colors blend together.  Plus the quick grey highlights now have a brown tint too.  I’m not sure how I’m going to go back and fix him, but I can’t leave him like he is.

The second method I tried was spraying the figures with the tan primer and using a brown wash to hopefully bring out the details.  Unfortunately it wasn’t as successful as I would have liked mainly because the details are shallow.  The only way I can get them to pop back out is to paint each strap, which adds to the time to paint each one.

The last two figures are done in the standard “prime black, start with the dark colors and highlight up” method that I seem to prefer.  I like the look of the last two much better (even though I still have to do the flesh) than the first two.  Left : inked  Right : Painted normally

Overall, I’m the most happy with the ones in the traditional painting method.  It took about 10 minutes to do the dip method, 20 minutes to do the prime/wash/highlight technique and 30 minutes to do the traditional layered look.  I think the layered look is still my favorite, and it’s how I’ll be painting the rest of them.  I think the look is well worth the extra 10-20 minute investment.

Looking back over the pictures I’m noticing that the yellow unforms are taking on a green tint.  I’m sure this has something to do with my camera setup, since in person the uniforms are highlighted up to sunlight yellow…

Entry filed under: For Others, Modern.

First mini finished Almost finished with the 20mm moderns

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

