First mini finished

January 2, 2010 at 11:50 pm Leave a comment

So I finished my first mini for someone else today.  This is one of the 20mm plastic moderns sent to me all the way from Michigan.  I finally got my primer to the right temperature and braved the cold to prime all the deltas and the navy seals.  This is my test paint for the rest of the 10 deltas.  I think this took me about an hour, but if I do them in batches I’m pretty sure that I can get the lot of them done in a couple evenings of painting.

I’m finding these a little hard to paint.  The detail is extremely shallow and I worry about not being able to pick it up with washes or with a brush.  Plus, there is a ton of detail crammed on to this little guy.  Modern uniforms tend to have a pretty limited color pallet, which makes them easier to paint.

I’m hoping for feedback on this one before I start on the other 9.  The Navy Seals I’m still wondering about since they are in a black wet suit carrying black weapons wearing black masks.  Maybe I’ll just highlight in grey and call it good enough?  Not sure how that will work yet.

Entry filed under: For Others, Modern.

More priming woes Still working on the 20mm moderns…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


What is this all about?

Welcome to Mini Painting for Free. Do you have way too many miniatures like I do? Send me one or two! I'll paint them up, photograph them, post about them and then send them back. The best part? All you have to pay is shipping to get the miniatures to me in New Hampshire, USA. I'll supply the time, paint and the return postage. Have something you want me to work on? Send me an email at bobbo.is.me@gmail.com and let me know.

